Countries › Colombia › Guide › 8. Immigration › M Socio o Propietario: the Colombian visa for founders and shareholders
M Socio o Propietario: the Colombian visa for founders and shareholders
Last verified: 2026-10-27 · Status: Stable
A foreigner who sets up a Colombian company or buys into an operating company with paid in capital of at least 100 minimum wages (COP 175,090,500, about US$55,445) can obtain a Visa M Socio o Propietario for up to three years. The work permit covers only the company the holder owns, the stake must be kept for the whole term, and shares bought on the secondary market do not qualify. The visa costs US$260, allows family beneficiaries, and after five continuous years leads to permanent residence; renewals require proof the company is active and solvent.
USD figures use the TRM (tasa representativa del mercado) of COP 3,157.94 per US dollar valid on 27 October 2026, from the official TRM series of the Superintendencia Financiera on the national open data portal (datos.gov.co). Peso thresholds use the 2026 minimum wage of COP 1,750,905 (Decreto 1469 de 2025) and fines use the 2026 UVT of COP 52,374 (DIAN Resolución 000238 de 2025). Visa fees are fixed in US dollars or euros; Cancillería sets its own peso conversion rate every four months, so peso amounts for visa fees are orientation only.
Key facts
| M Socio o Propietario: minimum paid in capital (100 minimum wages) | 175090500 COPResolución 5477 de 2022 art. 75, as of 2026-10-27 · in force |
|---|---|
| M Socio o Propietario: maximum validity | 3 yearsResolución 5477 de 2022 art. 75, as of 2026-10-27 · in force |
| M Socio o Propietario: years before an R visa | 5 yearsResolución 5477 de 2022 art. 90, as of 2026-10-27 · in force |
The rule
Cost to do it: Visa US$260 (about COP 821,064); minimum stake COP 175,090,500 (US$55,444.53) at the 2026 minimum wage. Accountant certificate and company incorporation costs extra.
Example: A Mexican founder capitalises a SAS with COP 200 million paid in and registers the investment. / About US$63,333 of paid in capital, above the US$55,445 threshold.Resolución 5477 de 2022, Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores, Art. 75 num. 1 to 5, 2022-07-22 official text · verified 2026-10-27
Cost to do it: No extra fee to report changes; cancellation leads to a 1 to 10 year bar on new visas (art. 116).
Example: A shareholder who sells half the stake below the threshold must notify Cancillería at once. / No direct cost; failure risks cancellation.Resolución 5477 de 2022, Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores, Art. 75 (vigencia, restricciones and par.), 84 and 114 num. 12, 2022-07-22 official text · verified 2026-10-27
Cost to do it: R visa US$239.
Example: Two visas of three and two years, renewed on time, reach the five year mark. / US$239 for the R visa.Resolución 5477 de 2022, Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores, Art. 90 (text of Res. 10434 de 2023 art. 76) and par. 2, 2023-12-28 official text · verified 2026-10-27
| Route | Threshold | COP 2026 | USD | Work permit | Years to R |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| M Socio o Propietario | 100 minimum wages of paid in capital | 175,090,500 | 55,444.53 | Own company only | 5 |
| M Inversionista (FDI) | Over 650 minimum wages registered FDI | over 1,138,088,250 | over 360,389.45 | Not specified in art. 79 | 5 |
| M Inversionista (real estate) | 350 minimum wages property, registered as FDI | 612,816,750 | 194,055.86 | Not specified in art. 79 | 5 |
Owner and investor routes compared (Resolución 5477 de 2022; 2026 minimum wage COP 1,750,905; TRM COP 3,157.94)
Worked example
- A Spanish entrepreneur forms a SAS in Cali and pays in COP 180 million (US$57,000) from Spain, registering it as foreign direct investment.
- A public accountant certifies the shareholding. The M Socio o Propietario visa costs US$260 (Spanish nationals pay no visa fees under Res. 3969 art. 4.1 lit. j).
- For renewal three years later, the SAS shows three months of bank statements, its income tax return, social security payments and municipal tax receipts.
Step by step
- Incorporate or acquire the stake; pay in capital of at least 100 minimum wages in the applicant's name.
- If the stake was funded from abroad, keep the Banco de la República foreign investment registration, which the visa accepts as evidence (art. 75 num. 2).
- Obtain the accountant certificate (share companies) and bank statements.
- File online, pay fees, register with Migración and get the cédula within 15 days.
- Keep the stake and the company active; report changes to Cancillería.
Common traps
- Subscribed but unpaid capital does not count; the test is paid in capital owned by the applicant.
- Shares bought on the stock exchange secondary market do not qualify (art. 75 par.).
- The owner can work only for that company; consulting for other clients needs another visa.
- Renewals fail if the company cannot show activity: keep tax returns and payroll in order.
Sources
- Resolución 5477 de 2022, Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores, visas, compiled text with amendments (Cancillería legal compilation)
- Resolución 3969 de 2026, Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores, consular, visa and nationality fees
- Decreto 1469 de 2025, minimum wage 2026 (MinTIC legal compilation)
- TRM series, Superintendencia Financiera, national open data portal
Related pages
- immigration/investor-visa
- immigration/work-visa-for-employees
- immigration/permanent-residence
- entities/sas
- fx/foreign-investment-registration
- /country/colombia/
- /calendar/
- Live dashboard
Related: Colombia country profile · live dashboard · central bank and release calendar · our posts on X
